The Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup 2019 will be held in Japan from September 20th to November 2nd at 12 different venues spread between Sapporo on the northern island of Hokkaido and Kumamoto in the southern part of Kyushu. This is the first time that Japan is hosting the 20-nation, 48-match tournament, and the first for a country outside of the traditional rugby strongholds. As such, it presents a rare opportunity for people worldwide not only to learn more about the sport but also about the rich and vast culture of this beautiful country.


Pool stage

The twenty teams are divided into four pools of five teams. Each pool is a single round of ten games, in which each team plays one match against each of the other teams in the same pool. Teams are awarded four league points for a win, two for a draw and none for a defeat by eight or more points. A team scoring four tries in a match is awarded a bonus point, as is a team that loses by fewer than eight points – both bonus points are awarded if both situations apply.

Screen Shot 2019-09-10 at 9.29.51 AM

The teams finishing in the top two of each pool advance to the quarter-finals. The top three teams of each pool receive automatic qualification to the 2023 Rugby World Cup.


The first final of the Rugby World Cup was contested in June 1987, in Auckland, between New Zealand and France. New Zealand won the tournament’s inaugural final 29-6.

As the hosts, England reached the final of the 1991 tournament at Twickenham, where they faced Australia. It was an Australia’s victory at 12–6.

The tournament hosts reached the final again in 1995, as South Africa faced New Zealand in Johannesburg. With seven minutes to the end of extra time, Stransky scored a drop goal to secure a 15–12 victory for South Africa. Nelson Mandela, the South African President, wearing a Springboks jersey, presented the Webb Ellis Cup to South Africa captain François Pienaar.

The 1999 final saw Australia face France at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. Australia won the game by 35 points to 12, and with it, their second World Cup.

The 2003 Rugby World Cup Final was played between England and Australia on 22 November 2003 at Telstra Stadium in Sydney in front of a crowd of 82,957. Jonny Wilkinson, fly-half of England scored a drop goal in the last minute of the match to give England a 20–17 victory. They became the first side from the Northern hemisphere to win the tournament.

England reached the final again in 2007, where they faced South Africa. This time it was a South African’s victory 15–6 and secure their second World Cup victory.

The 2011 final pitted hosts New Zealand against France for the second time in the tournament. It was a tough match, despite constant pressure from the French for the remainder of the final, they were unable to score more points and New Zealand won the match 8–7 to lift their second World Cup trophy.

New Zealand reached the final again in 2015, where they faced Australia at Twickenham. It was 34–17 win for New Zealand. With this victory, they became the first team to win the World Cup three times and the first holders to retain the trophy. It was also the first time that New Zealand won the competition outside of their country.



It is now only 2 days until the first match of Japan vs Russia at Tokyo Stadium on Friday 20th September at 11:45 am (UK time).

New Zeland is the clear favourite to retain the trophy but South Africa is showing they are a strong team and wants to obtain the trophy for the third time. Some of the northern hemisphere teams such as England or Wales who is the last Six Nations Champion are also real contenders.

Is it time for a new champion? It might be time for Argentina and Los Pumas?

The final countdown to the Rugby World Cup is upon us. All the auditions are over and now the show begins. It is the most open tournament in the competition’s history, with more genuine contenders than ever before.

Here at Tti School, we are going to display the games during the weekdays at our Study Lounge so get involved! And if you want to experience a real rugby fans atmosphere around London then you need to go to one of the many pubs around the city, grab a pint, interact with native speakers, learn about the rules and enjoy the game!

To find out more about the Rugby World Cup you can check the official website or download The Official RWC 2019 App for the latest news on your favourite teams, fixtures and venues. Available on both Apple and Android.

To find out more about our school please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>